Week 4- Due 07th April 2013

How has this week’s assignment improved your skills of reading and analysis?

This week has improved my reading and analysing skills a lot. It has improved my reading skills as the assignment made me read an article that I would never normally read. Also, the sentences and words were complex and sophisticated. These helped me develop my vocabulary as I learnt new words that I will be able to use in future tasks. It has also helped by analytical skills as I had to read the article whilst constantly analysing. It helped to put my previously learnt skills of analysing into practise. Moreover, as the project was a paired task when analysing the article I had to ‘think out side of the box’ so that my ideas and comments didn’t clash with my partners.

Discuss how you and your partner worked together to complete the task.

Overall me and my partner created a good document that I believe was very relevant and valid. Although, we didn’t work great as a team. I think this was because we were both shy to initiate the project and we both were waiting for the other one to start the discussion. Due to this we had a lack of communication and a lack (none) discussion. In the end as I waited until later on in the week my partner started the task and wrote all her ideas and then I developed some of her ideas ad added my own. Our overall result was a success although we had little to no teamwork.

How is the course helping you to become a more in(ter)dependent learner?

Overall I think that the course is helping me to become a more independent learner as it is helping me to schedule my time and organise my week better. Also, it is helping me to be more self sufficient as I am having to research things that I don’t understand in more detail myself instead of just relying on a teacher to help or give me the answers. Although, I still think I need to become a more in(ter)dependent learner as I have found the group tasks hard to start a discussion.

Here is the link to our completed document:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1qUJvlKmtl07T5Xa727wC96l3enHmcT2wnlbZj59iWBk/edit

3 thoughts on “Week 4- Due 07th April 2013

  1. Lou Buran says:

    I feel the same as you in that practicing the skills from the earlier week was appealing.

    I disagree with you when you write that you had, “little to no teamwork.” It seems to me that you and your partner negotiated and collaborated well, just at different times.

    I am learning to realign my expectations when it comes to “group work.” I am learning that there is value in the independent part of in(ter)dependent learning.

    • ellamaher says:

      Thanks for the comment, I agree with you when you say that overall me and my partner collaborated well and that our end result collaborated both of our ideas. Although, I realise that we both define ‘teamwork’ differently. The reason why I believe our project lacked teamwork as to me I believe teamwork means communicating and talking throughout the task and helping each other whereas in this task the only reason that the end result incorporated both of our ideas was due to the use of common sense. This was because we both knew that we had to add our ideas and the only way to do it was to just write your ideas and let others add to them!

  2. James Michie says:

    Your response includes a strong critical voice and your choice to focus in on specific areas was effective given the largely balanced nature of the Wikipedia article. I felt that your analysis and interpretation was unique in that you considered the topic in a broader more metaphorical sense, giving your critique a clear thesis of its own. Your critique and analysis was well discussed/structured.

    Your response could be improved by using a wider range of references both in terms of the article itself but also by referring to the texts provided for the week’s reading. This can be achieved through standard *author/date* references within the article backing up your argumentative approach with reference to material that supports such an approach.

    It is evident that you are progressing effectively and I think that the exposure to different models of working have been beneficial. While, I understand your point about collaborating being a synchronous process, I also agree with Lou, that it can work asynchronously. The end goal was to collaborate on an assignment and that is what you did, even if the discussion was minimal.

Leave a Reply

